Ms. Puerto Rico stripped of title after anti-Muslim tweets

Destiny Velez was Miss Puerto Rico 2015…until a series of anti-Muslim tweets cost her the title.

Here’s what happened: As you may be aware, filmmaker Michael Moore tweeted a photograph of himself, outside of the Trump Towers, with a sign that said, “We are all Muslim”:

 

This started a popular movement and hashtag…one which, of course, was not universally loved.  One such person who was not a fan was Mrs. Velez, who tweeted:

This did not go well, to put it politely.  As a result of these tweets, Velez was “indefinitely suspended” by the Miss America Organization.  Velez then issued this statement of apology:

“I apologize to the people I have offended with my words. I am first and foremost an #UpStander and as such I stand up against bullying. The last thing I wanted to do was to bully anyone. Again, I apologize to anyone who felt offended with my words.”

Velez has since deleted not only these tweets, but her entire Twitter account, as well as her accounts on Instagram and Tumblr.

Moore gave a video response to the tweets.  What a mess.

Thanks for participating in the discussion!

