Congresswoman tries to attack Obamacare on Facebook; attack backfires hilariously

Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rogers (R-WA) is the Chairwoman of the Republican House Conference, and the only female in Republican House Leadership.  Last week marked the five year anniversary of Obamacare, and as such, the Congresswoman took to Facebook to rip into the President’s controversial health plan.

As you can see, the Congresswoman specifically asked for people to “share their stories” about Obamacare “challenges.”  That certainly happened, to some extent.  However, many of the stories shared – likely far too many for the Congresswoman’s taste – discussed Obamacare success stories.  Examples included:

  • Janet C: My story is this: my husband and I worked to pass Obamacare because we believed all Americans should have access to quality healthcare, like we did through his workplace. We never thought it would affect us. Then one day I came home and found my strong, apparently healthy husband dead in the backyard. He had experienced cardiac arrest. Within one week I was off his plan. I purchased COBRA for a year and then looked for a less expensive plan. I applied for Blue Cross and was turned down due to pre-existing conditions: arthritis and bunions. I was so happy when Obamacare went through and I had access to healthcare. Never thought it would be me who needed it, but it was. Thanks, President Obama!
  • Matthew R: Employee insurance premiums for my small business were up only 6% this year. That is the smallest increase in the 16 years I have been in business. The ACA has been very good to my employees and has contained costs for my business. Please stop trying to take people’s insurance away by repealing the ACA,
  • Laura W: Oh, my, where to start? Let’s see, I now am able to get annual exams for breast cancer, colon cancer, depression screening, bone density tests and overall wellness exams FOR FREE! My insurance (thanks to Medicare) covers eye care and dental care, plus fitness program INCLUDED! I also have 24/7 access to health professionals. And I’ll tell you what else: I required extensive tests last year to find out what was wrong with my heart and guess what?! My insurance covered all but $250. The bill came to $7,000! Yes, thanks to #ACA, my coverage has not only improved through Medicare, it’s broadened and my premiums (MA) haven’t risen nearly as much as they did before this.

And there are plenty more where that came from.

The story garnered the Congresswoman national press, mainly because of how seriously it backfired.

Is this a big deal?  Of course not.  It’s more of a snarky thing for liberals to laugh at – here’s a Republican Congresswoman getting trolled on her own page over her attempts to attack the President and Democrats as a whole.  It’s a laugh for Democrats, but really, that’s about it.

That being said, this incident does show the danger of publicly asking for feedback, only to have it backfire.  It’s one of the reasons I always say that you need to be careful in asking for feedback or contributions on an open thread or hashtag.

Thanks for participating in the discussion!

