Using Facebook analytics to improve your page

In yesterday’s blog entry, I discussed how I used Twitter’s free analytics tool to improve my Twitter performance.  Here’s some tips on how to do the same thing with Facebook’s Insights.  I’ve found that this is an even more powerful tool than Twitter’s analytics, but that’s largely a function of information collected: Facebook collects more demographic info and can thus give you more robust analytics.

Something to keep in mind with Facebook pages: Facebook is seriously throttling back on “organic” (free) page reach.  It’s making you advertise to get your page seen. Facebook ads can be fantastic tools, but they obviously cost money, which means that if you are looking for free, you’re going to need to focus your efforts elsewhere.  Platforms like Twitter, blogging and Email lists can certainly expect to gain power in the face of Facebook’s business decision.

Anyway, here’s what I gathered when I look at the page analytics for my Mike Schlossberg Social Media.

Page reach

In reviewing my five most popular posts, I was able to get a general idea of what type of content was seen by the most people.  The answer was a little bit of a downer: Social media fails that involved violence, sex, racism and tragedy drove the most traffic.  Oh well.  No surprise.

Most engagement

This is what posts got the most likes, comments, shares or clicks.  Unsurprisingly, the posts that had the most reach also had the most engagement.

When fans are online

This was a very useful statistic.  The analysis showed me that my fans have spikes in activity at 11am, 4pm and 8pm.  I’ll start gearing my content to appear during those times.

Fan demographics

Here’s where things got a little bit confusing. In terms of my overall fans, my fan base slants heavily towards women (more so than the Facebook average, which also slants towards women).  In terms of ages, the highest group were those aged 45-54, then 25-34.  However, in terms of people reached, the demographics were much younger, with 25-34 year olds far and away being the most engaged. Even more interesting: in terms of engagement, 45-54 year olds engage the most!

What’s the take away?  I have a mismatch in a variety of respects. My fanbase isn’t so large that I need to try to resolve this (I only have 430 fans), and I’m not going to sweat it too much, but if this persisted if and when I break 1,000 fans, I’d be concerned.  Ideally, I think your fan demographics, reach and engagement should align – otherwise you are not speaking to the demographic that you should be.

Traffic referrers

Email was the top was that people are reaching my page – I do run a weekly Email newsletter (which you can sign up for!), so that makes sense.  Knowing this, I’m going to make a more obvious push for my Facebook page in the next couple Emails and see if that gets me more fans.

So, that’s my page.  How about yours – have you run a similar analysis?  What did you find?  Let us know in the comments!

3 Comments

  1. Good stuff. With the when fans online metric I’ve also heard the argument that it’s best to avoid those times because target audience news feeds are flooded with posts during spikes… So could go both ways. Best to experiment and see what works best for individual campaigns.

    Reply

    1. Interesting point, actually – but, it depends on if other’s are taking advantage of the same metric. My guess is actually no – the vast majority of posts pages, with the exception of big brand ones, probably aren’t using analytics, and that’s a shame. It’s a really fantastic tool for people to use to make their FB communications better.

      Reply

Thanks for participating in the discussion!

