Failing for a year!

Obviously, last week was a hectic one, but it was so it was only recently that I realized this: last week, November 3, was the one year anniversary of Political Fails; It was on that day that I wrote and published the first blog entry.  I can’t believe I’ve been at this for a year – it seems like it was only yesterday!

Since that first entry was published, there have been 253 posts about a whole variety of fails and social media tips.  I can’t believe that part in and of itself.  Some other interesting notes:

  • The most popular blog entries I’ve run often had little to do with the content and everything to do with a good link or search term.  Back in February, I did a story on a Russian member of parliament and former Olympiad who used Twitter to take racist shots at President Obama.  The entry performed about average at the time it was published – however, six months later, the popular sports website Bleacher Report did an article on social media fails – and linked to this blog entry.  Hundreds of people then visited Political Fails, and this became the most popular blog entry I’ve written so far.
  • The second and fourth most popular entries were a matter of good timing.  Last week, I did stories on what candidates were “winning” Facebook and Twitter.  On election day, people were Googling terms like “who is winning the 2014 elections” and they came to these entries.  That made the Twitter entry the second most popular entry of all time, and the Facebook one was #4.
  • The third and fifth most popular entries were two of the most massive fails I’ve discussed.  At #3 was Milton Wolf, a radiologist and candidate for Senate in Kansas, who posted pictures of x-rays of patients, complete with horrifically insensitive commentary.  At number five was Councilman Henry Davis Jr. of South Bend, Indiana, who used Facebook to post content that compared the repeal of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell to bestiality – and posted explicit pictures of bestiality while doing so.
  • 10% of my traffic doesn’t come from the United States.  Unsurprisingly, the most popular foreign countries are English speaking: United Kingdom, Canada and Australia.
  • The top three sources of traffic, for me, are Search Engines, Twitter and Facebook.  The Bleacher Report article was #4, and LinkedIn is #5.

I’m sure this goes without saying, but I plan on continuing to blog for the foreseeable future.  What started out as a hobby has turned into a future book and a small business, and I’m really enjoying this.  More importantly, I hope you are enjoying reading.  The goal here has been to do more than entertain or laugh at the mistakes of others: it’s been to teach.  Teach you how to use social media appropriately, and teach the importance of social media from a governmental perspective.  If I’m doing that, this has been worth it.

Thanks for reading!

Thanks for participating in the discussion!

