GOP candidate withdraws from race after homophobic, racial slurs

For today’s entry, we have the latest entrant into the “Really?  REALLY?” club.  Meet Jacob Dorsey, who was, until very recently, the Republican candidate for State Representative in Wisconsin’s 44th Legislative District.  Dorsey was seeking to unseat Representative Deb Kolste.

Dorsey, 19, was caught using a series of extremely offensive words in tweets and YouTube comments by NOManiacs, a blog which seeks to “expose NOM [National Organization of Marriage] and its supporters.

It started when the tweet below was discovered. In response to a news story about a U.S. Circuit Court rejecting Utah’s request to stop same-sex marriages, Dorsey tweeted, “fags need 2 leave my favorite state alone”:

Jack Dorsey homophobic tweet

Dorsey apologized for the comments, saying:

I regret using unacceptable and hurtful language on social media last year and sincerely apologize for doing so. I recognized the inappropriateness of the tweet shortly after sending it and promptly deleted it. I am a staunch supporter of traditional marriage, but the language I used is not in keeping with my character, family values and Christian upbringing, and I fully acknowledge that.

But that wasn’t all. As captured by NOManiacs, Dorsey made these two comments in YouTube videos:

  • “Niggers trash cars, I’m not selling my town car to one…….”
  • “I hate Obama and the national urban bastards”

Jack Dorsey Offensive Tweets comments blacks

As you can imagine, the backlash was swift.  The local Republican Party condemned the remarks and requested that Dorsey return a donation that they made to him.  Dorsey wound up withdrawing from the race, though his name will remain on the ballot, saying:

I have decided to withdraw from the race due to insensitive remarks that have surfaced from years past…This race has been extremely hard on my family and myself.

Point for Mr. Dorsey: One way to make elections easier on yourself, and your family, is to not use language that is nearly universally despised.  I’ll also add that this is a bit of a new one: I’ve never seen YouTube comments used against a candidate or elected official, but these comments were pretty clearly offensive and a major social media goof.

Digital is forever.  Mr. Dorsey found that one out the hard way.

Thanks for participating in the discussion!

