To respond to trolls, or not respond? That is the question….

I caught an interesting exchange on Twitter the other day, and it had me thinking.  The conversation in question came between Congressman Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA) and Mittsunderpants (lovely racist reference to Mormon undergarments right there).  Mittsunderpants tweeted the Congressman a pretty nasty tweet – and Congressman Rohrabacher responded:

Congressman Rohrabacher Troll

Interestingly enough, the tweet was deleted by Rohrabacher and is no longer visable on his page.  I actually think the tweet was appropriate – if done for the right reasons.

To further illuminate my point, a personal example.  The other day, my legislative account sent out this tweet:

And got this wacky response:

What?  Just…what?  Anyway, it would have been very easy for me to retweet that tweet and issue a nasty response…something along the lines of, “Hey, you sexist jerk, do you think women should be barefoot, pregnant and cooking?  That sure is what it sounds like.”

I chose not to, because that isn’t my style.  I like being quirky and funny at times, but also professional.  I don’t want anyone to think that I regularly engage with trolls – I want to be above that.  And that was the path I chose.  Congressman Rohrabacher, at least temporarily, chose a different path.  I don’t think there is anything wrong with that path if it fits your image.  That, of course, goes back to knowing what your social media goals and objectives are – and this, in general, shows why everyone needs a social media plan.

What do you think?  Do I have it right?  Let me know in the comments!

One Comment

Thanks for participating in the discussion!

