Judge makes repeated offensive posts on LSU message board

I’ve repeatedly said that it’s best to just avoid commenting in blogs and message boards if you are an elected official.  Arkansas Circut Court Judge Mike Maggio has helped to prove my point in an incredibly offensive way.

The Blue Hog Report made the discovery that an anonymous commenter was, in fact, Judge Mike Maggio.  The comments appeared on TigerDroppings.com, a message board for LSU fans, under the name “geauxjudge.”

There are two types of fails here, as committed by the Judge.  The first is an incredible breach of confidentiality, as contained in this screenshot:

MaggioConfidentiality

The adoption in question was that of actress Charlize Theron, who was in the process of adopting a baby.  Judge Maggio would later confirm that the child was, in fact, black.  Child adoption cases are supposed to be completely confidential in Arkansas, and no details should have been made public.  Maggio has since admitted that he was the one behind leaking these details.

The second group is painfully standard to these type of social media screw-ups: comments of incredible racism, sexism and homophobia.  Some of lowlights are below.  For example, Judge Maggio apparently believes that having an African-American sounding name is a solid prediction of ones future lack of professional success:

Maggio2According to the Judge, men have two needs from women: “Feed me and f*<k me”:

Maggio3

The Judge believes that gay sex is just one “small step” away from sex with a dog:

Maggio4

Naturally, the incident will have serious repercussions for Judge Maggio.  Maggio had been running for the Arkansas Court of Appeals but has since withdrawn from the race.  In a statement, Maggio took responsibility for his remarks:

I take full responsibility for the comments that have been attributed to me. I apologize deeply for my lapse in personal judgment and for that, I have no excuse. The comments posted were not acceptable. These comments are not a reflection of who I am.

During my life, I have prided myself in treating all fairly and with respect, both personally and professionally. My friends, family and colleagues know me and can appropriately attest to how I have treated others. I stand by their opinion and regret letting them down. I ask for both yours and God’s forgiveness. My actions are not indicative or illustrative of the conservative political philosophy of which I hold dear.

It is a shame that the politics of personal destruction take precedence along with the win at all costs mentality that results in the disjunction.

At this time, in light of the pain I have caused to my family, friends, supporters, the Judicial Branch, and the public, I have requested that the Secretary of State remove me from the ballot.

I would ask you to respect my family’s need for privacy so we can being the healing process of forgiveness.

It’s good that he took responsibility, I guess, but “the politics of personal destruction?”  Really?  He made incredibly offensive posts and violated judicial confidentiality, and somehow its the fault of the politics of personal destruction?  Regardless, Maggio’s comments are now being investigated by a disciplinary board.

The lesson here is…umm, do I really need to say anything else?

3 Comments

Thanks for participating in the discussion!

